The Haggis Horns – What Comes to Mind

The Haggis Horns - What Comes to Mind

Artist: The Haggis Horns
Album: What Comes to Mind
Label: Haggis Records
Release date: October 2, 2015
Genre: Jazz-Funk, Soul, Deep Funk
Format: mp3, Quality: 320 kbps

The UK’s favourite funk/soul brothers The Haggis Horns release their long awaited third album “What Comes To Mind”. This one drops on their own new independent record label Haggis Records and features a host of special guest artists including vocalists Lucinda Slim (Zap Mama), John McCallum (Corinne Bailey Rae band) and John Turrell (Smoove & Turrell), plus New Mastersounds bass player Pete Shand and UK conga/percussion legend Snowboy.

“What Comes To Mind” is packed full of feel good funk, soul and boogie that pays homage to the band’s musical heroes of the 1970s – Kool & The Gang, Donald Byrd, The Blackbyrds, The Mizell Brothers, Earth Wind & Fire. There’s plenty of dancefloor-filling funk for the clubs – “Out Of My Head”, “It Ain’t What You Got”, “Can’t Stop The Feeling” – plus jazz funk instrumentals like “Return Of The Haggis” where the band get the chance to stretch out and cut loose on the solo sections. For deep soul heads, check the slower tempo gospel tinged vocal track “Give Me Something Better”. British soul past or present doesn’t come much better than this! ~

01. Return of the Haggis (4:14)
02. Give Me Something Better (feat. John McCallum) (4:16)
03. It Ain’t What You Got (feat. John Turrell) (5:15)
04. Keep It Tight (4:12)
05. Digging in the Dirt (7:04)
06. I Can’t Stop the Feeling (feat. Lucinda Slim) (4:43)
07. Doin’ It (4:25)
08. Outta My Head (feat. John McCallum) [Explicit] (4:22)
09. You’ve Got to Keep on Bumpin’ (5:48)
10. Return of the Haggis (X Rated) [Explicit] (4:11)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *