VA – London Street Jazz: 21 Years Of Acid Jazz Records

VA-London-Street-Jazz-2010Artists: Various
Album: London Street Jazz: 1988-2009 21 Years Of Acid Jazz Records
Label: Beat Goes Public
Released: 2010
Genre: Jazz / Jazz-Funk / Acid Jazz
Format: mp3, Quality: vbr

This is the third volume celebrating the Acid Jazz label’s 21st anniversary, and this time we focus on the label’s jazz heritage. This compilation, by Dean Rudland, covers all the bases from hard bop through organ grooves, Latin rhythms and fast fusion.This CD gives an alternative view of London’s acid jazz club scene, showing where many of the label’s bigger acts’ influences come from. Artists such as the James Taylor Quartet, the Brand New Heavies and the New Jersey Kings show their love of the Mizell Brothers’ fusion. Whilst future TV star Max Beesley, Simon Bartholomew and the obscure but brilliant Ohm take a turn at a more jazz-funk groove.Others such as the Bukkyleo Quintet and the outstanding Ed Jones Quartet play it in a more acoustic mode. In this they are joined by Snowboy with his Latin take on John Coltrane’s Mr PC. Looking at jazz from outside these points of view are the Emperor’s New Clothes with an almost free Eyes That Burn and the Filthy Six, Acid Jazz’s newest signing, who explore a late 60s early 70s Donald Byrd sound.The in-depth sleeve notes explain how jazz became so important to a generation of London musicians on the UK soul scene and how they imbued it with a unique British flavour. Also how a Swedish piano teacher spawned a generation of UK organ groups.

1. The Filthy Six – This (7:51)
2. New Jersey Kings – Stoned On Denmark Street (4:42)
3. The Brand New Heavies – Mr Tanaka (4:34)
4. The James Taylor Quartet – Keep The Dream Alive (5:57)
5. Max Beesley’s High Vibes – Mr Jeckle (4:02)
6. Ed Jones Quartet – Samba Minus One (4:59)
7. Ulf Sandberg Quartet – Bolivia (8:11)
8. Snowboy & The Latin Section – Mr P.C. (3:41)
9. The Bukkyleo Quintet – Rejoice In Righteousness (9:37)
10. Emperors New Clothes – Eyes That Burn (7:02)
11. Simon Bartholemew – Akimbo (5:20)
12. Ohm – Sweet Ohm (5:56)
13. The Apostles – Mercy Mercy Me (5:01)

Download: VA – London Street Jazz: 21 Years Of Acid Jazz Records

Uploaded   |   Turbobit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *