VA – Dramatic Funk Themes Vol. 1: British Rare Groove

VA-Dramatic-Funk-Themes-Vol-1Artists: Various
Album: Dramatic Funk Themes Vol. 1: British Rare Groove
Release Date: April 4, 2008
Label: Show Up
Genre: Jazz-Funk, Cinematic
Format: mp3, Quality: CBR 320 kbps

Okay, this is a no-brainer: Dramatic Funk Themes Vol. 1, a compendium of British Rare Grooves from the Themes International Music Library, 1973-76, is the most exciting library compilation of a young 2008. Will it be the best of the year? Only time will tell, but I’m putting it on the short list.
Themes International Music Library was started by KPM session aces Alan Parker (guitars), Mike Moran and Alan Hawkshaw (keys) and Barry Morgan (drums) as well as KPM producer Graham Walker. Library collectors know Themes for having eye-catching album cover art, which was unusual for library records at the time.
These 20 funky power rock tracks with titles like “Flashpoint,” “High Diver” and “Speed Run” are all about action or getting some. They come from albums with titles such as Dramatic Action, Breath of Danger and The Rock Machine. There is a widescreen vitality in these tracks thanks to driving rhythms, vibrant horn sections and blazing guitar work.
If you don’t feel quite like you’re in a movie listening to this music then you’ll at least feel like you’re in a very cool ’70s car commercial. You’re behind the wheel of a powerful V8. You’re rockin’ the wide lapels, open collar and knotted scarf look with outsized shades and feathered hair, but you’re also packing heat in a shoulder holster and the chick in the passenger seat thinks you’re god’s gift. Life is good — at least that’s the vibe I’m getting from this sweet slab of library funk.

01. Les Hurdle – Soul Train
02. Alan Hawkshaw – Flashpoint
03. Kenny Salmon – Flying Squad
04. Alan Parker – Sweeny Todd
05. David Lindup – The Observer
06. Kenny Salmon – Get Up and Go
07. Alan Hawkshaw – High Diver
08. Madeline Bell & Alan Parker – Soul Slap
09. Keith Roberts – Override
10. Mike Moran – El Zoro
11. Alan Tew – Scenechange 6a
12. David Lindup – At Risk
13. Johnny Pearson – Work Force
14. James Clarke – The Heavies
15. Alan Hawkshaw & Brian Bennett – Oddball
16. Alan Tew – Headlights
17. Alan Hawkshaw – Speed Run
18. David Lindup – Inside Information
19. Mike Moran – The Pick-Up
20. Alan Hawkshaw – The Investigator

Download: Various – Dramatic Funk Themes Vol. 1 (2008)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *