The Impellers – This Is Not A Drill

The Impellers - This Is Not A Drill album coverArtist: The Impellers
Album: This Is Not A Drill
Label: Legere / Mocambo
Release date: April 27, 2012
Genre: Deep Funk / Soul / Jazz
Format: mp3, Quality: VBR V0

Starting as Ed Meme & The Forms, this 10-piece powerhouse UK band became the more pronounceable The Impellers when signing with Freestyle Records in 2008, a label on which they released their smashing first album Robot Legs the following year. They’re now back with their second full-length recording, This Is Not A Drill, to be sorted in the Heavy Funk section rather than the Deep Funk one. This record is indeed a blast, with huge horns, a high-energy rhythm section, groovy Hammond licks and authentic soulful vocals from ‘Lady’ Clair Witcher. The single, Politiks Kills People, could be the answer to our recent Election Mix, so we played it in our latest Bag of Goodies selection, and we should also feature their Ting Tings cover That’s Not My Name in a future Molesting Laura playlist… Well since this album’s all killer, no filler, and full of heavy breaks, we could play any kinda track in there quite easily!

1. Intro (1:53)
2. Hear What I Say (3:54)
3. I Predict A Riot (3:38)
4. Pon Lo Afuera (4:31)
5. Do What I Wanna Do (4:03)
6. Signs of Hope & Happiness (3:43)
7. Took Me For A Ride (4:29)
8. Belly Savalas (2:46)
9. The Knock Knock (4:33)
10. Politiks Kills People (4:38)
11. That’s Not My Name (5:23)
12. Close to Me (3:55)
13. Pull You Over The Line (4:05)
14. Last Orders (2:58)

Download: The Impellers – This Is Not A Drill (2012)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *