The Dynamites feat. Charles Walker – Burn It Down

The-Dynamites-Charles-Walker-Burn-It-DownArtist: The Dynamites feat. Charles Walker
Album: Burn It Down
Release date: September 15, 2009
Label: Outta Sight Records
Genre: Deep Funk / Soul / Revival
Format: mp3, Quality: CBR 320 kbps

Nashville’s retro-soul band the Dynamites has two things going for it. The first is its leader, guitarist Leo Black (real name Bill Elder), who writes new material steeped in the traditions of 1960s and ’70s soul and funk, giving the group a repertoire that is familiar but not too familiar. The second is featured lead singer Charles Walker, the 65-year-old soul veteran who gives the Dynamites a direct connection to the music and time they honor. These are, however, also the elements that the Dynamites have going against them. Black’s basic template is the James Brown band, but he also creates music and arrangements that recall Curtis Mayfield (“Can’t Have Enough”), the smooth soul of various vocal groups (“I Got Love [For You]”), and even early-’60s Jamaican rocksteady (“The Real Deal”).

01. Burn It Down (3:50)
02. If I Had Known (4:23)
03. Sombody’s Got It Better (4:18)
04. Can’t Have Enough (4:34)
05. Do the Right Thing (4:15)
06. I Got Love for You (4:35)
07. Treadneck (1:50)
08. Somebody Stop Me (4:29)
09. It’s a) Sunny Day (4:42)
10. The Third Degree (3:42)
11. If You Don’t Mean It (5:09)
12. The Real Deal (4:42)

Download: The Dynamites feat. Charles Walker – Burn It Down (2009)

Uploaded   |   DF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *